Focus - Print Logo
Teaser 1

On the FOCUS Izalco Max to the Victory at Giro 2014 – AG2R LA MONDIALE wins Team Title

AG2R La Mondiale has written a new success story. For the first time the French team of manager Vincent Lavenu won the team title at the Giro d' Italia and on bikes made in Cloppenburg, because the new FOCUS Izalco Max convinced the riders of the French top teams  continuously and confidently at all stages.

Despite adverse conditions, many crashes and early failure of Davide Apollonio all riders worked together towards the success. It was supported by the FOCUS Izalco Max, which was able to show its strength eypecially during the tough climbs. "The Izalco MAX I rode in the Giro d'Italia is the lightest bike I've ever had in my career. But what characterizes most it is the extreme rigidity, this feature also makes it very easy to ride in all situations and courses," said Domenico Pozzovivo of AG2R La Mondiale.

The 5th place of Captain Pozzovivo, No. 11 (A. Vuillermoz) and 16 (H. Dupont) and especially the victory in the team competition also ensure first class results in the UCI ranking.

Conclusion: AG2R LA Mondiale remains one of the world's best teams. As a technical outfitter not only we, from FOCUS benefit from successful way in which the team rides, but also of the great confidence the team has in our bike and the continuous feedback of the entire team to our developers and designers.

Top 10 Team Competition at the Giro:

  1. AG2R La Mondiale                                                  2:64:30:55

  2. Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team           +19:32

  3. Tinkoff-Saxo                                                          +27:12

  4. BMC Racing Team                                                   1:08:24

  5. Movistar Team                                                         1:13:52

  6. Astana Pro Team                                                     1:26:51

  7. Team Sky                                                                1:28:05

  8. Lampre-Merida                                                        1:47:02

  9. Team Europcar                                                         2:04:31

 10. Trek Factory Racing                                                 2:14:58